The 15th Pune International Film Festival Kicks Off

Subscribe to our newsletter

And finally, Pune International Film Festival (PIFF) 2017 kicks off with a breathtaking Flamenco performance and the brilliant opening film, Thank you for Bombing from Austria.

The festival was inaugurated at the hands of Dr. Mohan Agashe, Arvind and Prakash Chaphalkar and Dr. Jabbar Patel at City Pride Multiplex, Kothrud.

Aparna Sen, noted Filmmaker, Screenwriter and Actor and Seema Deo, veteran film Actor known for her work in Hindi and Marathi cinema were honored today with the ‘PIFF Distinguished Award’ for their outstanding contribution to Indian Cinema. Seema Deo dedicated this award to her beloved mother and to her Guru Late Raja Parnajape who supported her throughout her career. Aparna Sen paid tribute to great actor Late Om Puri by dedicating this award to him.


While the prestigious ‘S. D. Burman International Award for Creative Sound and Music’ was presented to Tabla Maestro, Composer and Percussionist Ustad Zakir Hussain this year. Speaking on the occasion, Zakir Hussain said, “I am really honored to receive this award in the name of great musician S.D. Burman and I thank the PIFF team for this.”

The opening also introduced the International Jury for Global Cinema, which includes Aparna Sen (India), Prof Jerzy Stuhr (Poland), Goran Paskaljevic (Serbia), Jorge Arriagada (Chile), Jens Fischer (Sweden), Gowri Ramnarayan (India), Bennet Rathnayake (Sri Lanka) and Narges Abyer (Iran).

This year, PIFF is being held between January 12th and 19th, 2017 in 13 screens at 8 venues located in Pune and Pimpri-Chinchwad. The venues include City Pride Kothrud, City Pride Satara Road, City Pride R-Deccan, Mangala Multiplex, Inox Bund Garden Road, National Films Archives of India (NFAI) and Carnival Cinemas Chinchwad.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More