Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2013

A Punekar talks about the Volkswagen Polo R Cup..

Let me begin by congratulating our very own Punekar drivers, Gaurav Mehta and Tanmay Ugale who have made it on the list of the top twenty-one drivers who are set to compete in the Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2013.
The journey began in 2007 when the European automobile giant entered the growing Indian market and selected Pune as the destination to set up their plant. In 2010, the ‘people’s wagon’ company, in collaboration with JK Tyre & Industries Ltd., introduced the globally acclaimed Volkswagen Polo Cup in India. Since the flag-off of the first season, the Volkswagen Motorsport India team has grown, and is currently spearheading the flagship motor sport event, Polo R Cup.
The first season of the Polo Cup in India commenced with an inaugural round at Shri Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex at Balewadi in Pune. The second race took place at the Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore. The Polo R Cup has gained momentum and is now in its fourth consecutive year. Rookies who aspire to be racers look at the Polo R Cup as a stepping stone in the professional racing world. With the help of in-depth training offered by expert coaches, their talent is brought to the forefront. They have an equal chance of getting a podium position well as contend for the title.
Applications are invited for every season and after the rigorous selection procedure the best twenty are selected and trained. There is a special training camp held for the participating drivers. Each one is allotted the Volkswagen Polo Race (TSI) cars. Each of these TSI cars are well equipped with data analysing equipment which gives a driver an overview of his or her driving. These drivers battle it out in six rounds spread across six months on the tracks that are situated in Chennai- Madras Motor Sports Club’s Irungattukottai Race Track, Coimbatore’s Kari Motor Speedway and Noida’s Buddh International Circuit. The highest points collector is the season’s winner and graduated to Scirocco Cup.
So Punekars, are you looking forward to the fourth season of Volkswagen Polo R Cup which commences on 19th July 2013?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *